The Life of a Working Dad

Yes, I talk about all of the different aspects of being a working mom, because well, I am a working mom. But what about all of the working dads? They are just as important and they have insights and issues to talk about too right? Well today I am going to give you an inside look into my husbands brain as I interviewed him about some of the same problems that some mothers face. Not super in depth, but it will hopefully help other dads and moms not to feel alone.

What is your favorite thing about being a Dad?

“Having someone to come home and play with. I really love playing ball and guns with my son Jaxon.”

What is the hardest thing about being a Dad?

“Going to work everyday mostly, just not being able to see him all of the time sucks.”

If you had a choice, would you be a stay at home parent?

“Of course I would.”

Do you ever feel judged by other parents?

“Yes, all of the time.”

How so?

“I feel judged by the way I am raising my son. Just the way that we do things and the way that we discipline him.”

Conclusion:

Moms definitely do tend to get a lot of crap when it comes to judgement and stuff, but by talking to my husband about his experience with the judgement from other parents, I found that he too has some of the same feelings.

He talked about he feels judged by other parents regularly on the way that we raise him, and the way that we discipline him. That’s interesting because I feel like I am more judged about the way that I am, the way that I have handled being a mom rather then the way that “we” as a couple are doing things.

How and why do you feel judged? Sometimes saying it out loud helps you feel better about it.

